SUMMER READS

Nothing says Summer like blueberry vodka-spiked lemonades. And also reading. Reading slows time, just like summer seems to and who doesn’t need that?

Here are my picks from the past few months;

A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams. This was my “fluff” book. I adore fluff. It takes place in Newport, RI (my home state!) and follows a well-to-do young lady as she navigates society and a lil’ love triangle. So, you know, perfect beach read. A page-turner for sure.

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. I re-read this for the storyline and for the recipes. I love to re-read old faves in the summer, it’s great for nostalgia. I also made some of the chocolate chip/ ginger banana bread and it was the biggest hit. It was the only time I turned on the oven in the heat. WORTH IT!

Shogun by James Clavell. This is my personal challenge, way out of my normal reading. Adventure and summertime are basically synonymous. I figured that I know very little about Japan, so surely after an epic 800 pages, I would pick something up. Plus, pirates!! I am about a third of the way through and it does move very slowly, though I have been unable to put it down, so that’s telling. 

What have been your favorite reads this summer? What’s in store for you for Fall?

One thought on “SUMMER READS

Leave a Reply

