SPICE CAKE VICTORY

Super professional.

Super professional.

After receiving a request for a birthday spice cake, this diligent baker took to the internet and discovered that there are ten bajillon different kinds of spice cake; Apple, pumpkin, pumpkin apple, cinnamon, buttermilk and so on. Having never made one, I trusted Emeril’s Buttermilk Spice Cake (5 stars on the Food Network website.)

Once I got to the grocery, I noticed that the spices required for this recipe were expensive. In a moment of pure, unadulterated laziness, I picked up a boxed cake.

I was not particularly proud of myself and as if to drive home the bad decision, the cake caved in the middle while it was cooling. Disaster. Serendipitously, plans to celebrate Grandpa’s birthday were put off.

Over the weekend, on another trip to the grocery, this here kitchen warrior found herself in the bulk spice aisle and you know something? I bought only what I needed and it was a MUCH better deal (what madman uses a whole tin of ground allspice before it goes rancid, anyway?)

This writer took a stab at the Emeril spice cake and friends, friends, friends; there is a reason for every last one of those stars.

After reading the comments, I decided to try another frosting recipe; Joy the Baker’s cream cheese brown sugar frosting, but it turned out too sweet (even after using less powdered sugar than it called for) and grainy and as an amateur cake decorator, I can tell you; it was difficult to work with.  So don’t judge.

Do you have a favorite Spice Cake recipe?

Leave a Reply

