WHAT ARE YOU EATING? TOMATOS

It’s Fall and I am finally ready to turn the oven back on. Like putting on close-toed shoes or pants for the first time in months, it’s taking some getting used to.

Earlier this year, around August 12th specifically, I decided that there will be no more cooking in the Summertime ever again.

One less thing. I have my reasons.

Since then, I have been hoarding cold-weather cravings and recipes (I can’t wait for chili!) but in the name of ease of execution and prep time, I have started out pretty basic. Getting myself back into chopping tons of onions and garlic (since they are the basis for everything worth eating in the Fall and Winter) and just getting back into the kitchen. The results have made me so happy.

I mean, roasted cauliflower and goat cheese. That’s really all you need to know about life. It’s the very, very end of tomato season, so you might as well pair it with goat cheese (isn’t it funny how many ingredients you can say that about?) Everyone can have their pumpkin what-have-yous, I am still holding onto tomato until it’s really gone.

And then I will switch to pumpkin.

This recipe indicates that this casserole is a lovely “side dish,” which I fully dismiss and double it, so there is plenty for work lunches. You won’t be sorry.

Shakshuka courtesy Deb Perelman-aka Smitten Kitchen.

Shakshuka courtesy Deb Perelman-aka Smitten Kitchen.

Shakshuka is not a new dish in my catalog, but it was a quick favorite and so easy. Also, fun to say. No one knows for sure how to pronounce it, everyone loves to eat it, spicy and healthy and warming. I double the garlic, sorta my thing. I come from a family of shameless vampires.*

This is the ultimate breakfast. The ultimate meal. Hubbs enjoys it over rice, I think it’s best served over a lightly toasted crusty bread.

We agree to disagree.

There are few people we can trust in this world with spot on recipe ideas and Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen is one of them. Cook’s Country is the other. Everyone else is highly suspect.

Happy Fall! Get this computer out of your face and go roast something! Put on a sweater, too!

*Pro-tip; Request extra garlic with your thai food. They will look at you like you are insane, your friends may keep their distance, but I promise, you will never be the same.

And by that, I mean because your taste buds’ minds will be blown.

Leave a Reply

