WHAT ARE YOU EATING? CHILLY. CHILI.

So this Polar Vortex thing…Crazy, right?

I for one am glad we got a little taste so early on. It has pushed me, full-on, with both hands, into soup and chili season. There is nothing more soothing than a soup pot full of stock bubbling on the stove while I hunker down, Baby Boom playing in the background, a glass of wine, warm footwear and maybe some warm blankets in the laundry. MMMmmmm…

This recipe is so easy that it’s a little shameful, but after weeks of braising and babysitting, it is nice to have chili make itself.

Sure, it’s a lot of beans. It’s a lot of cans. It’s not the most from scratch version ever, but it is Hubb’s favorite so no one cares. We are not about food shame here.

Chili is all about personal preference. Sometimes, I omit a certain bean and add another can of something else depending on what I have on hand. I never add salt; between the chorizo and the canned stuff, it is just not necessary. This recipe started out vegetarian, but friends, dearest loves, honeybabylambs…Just do it, k? Eat the chorizo. I know what I’m talking about.

ALL THE BEANS Crock Pot Chorizo Chili:

  • 1 14oz can kidney beans, rinsed
  • 1 14oz can piquinto beans NOT rinsed
  • 1 14oz can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 14oz can chili beans IN chili sauce
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can green chiles of desired spiciness
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp dried Oregano
  • 1 med onion, chopped
  • Several garlic cloves, minced (I use 4-6). You can trust me, I am definitely not a vampire…
  • 1 lb Mexican Chorizo- I usually do pork.
  • Hot sauce (optional)

Plug in crock pot. Set on low. Dump in above ingredients. Let cook overnight or High about 4 hours-as long as chorizo is cooked.

I know that sounds like a lot, but you can handle it, trust me.

We haven’t even discussed the best part; Toppings. I do:

  • Cilantro and/or shredded lettuce
  • Shredded cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Tortilla chips– ¡VIVA NACHOS!

This week though, I am trying a new recipe; White Bean Chicken Chili by Giada.

Courtesy; Food Network

Courtesy; Food Network

Anything that you can make into nachos, right?? Plus, it has swiss chard in it, so technically, it’s a salad. AmIright?

Leave a Reply

